Author: Angela Han

Giant Beaked Whale

Although there are two distinct species of large beaked whales, they are termed collectively as just Giant Beaked Whales as they are quite similar to each other. These two species are: Berardius arnuxii – Arnoux’s Beaked Whale, also known as the Southern Four-toothed Whale, Southern Beaked Whale, New Zealand Beaked Whale, Southern Giant Bottlenose Whale,

Curvier’s Beaked Whale

The most widely distributed out of all of the beaked whales in the world is Curvier’s Beaked Whale. It is the only member of its genus and is also commonly known as the Goose-beaked Whale because its head looks like a goose’s beak. It is so perculiar, that during the Middle Ages, it was thought

Tropical Bottlenose Whale

Once considered the world’s rarest cetacean, the Tropical Bottlenose Whale, also known as Longman’s Beaked Whale or the Indo-Pacific Beaked Whale, has a long history full of being misidentified as other types of whales. Fortunately now, most of these issues have been resolved. Drawing of this rare whale The reason why is has been misidentified

Bottlenose Whale

Looking similar to a dolphin, the bottlenose whale has 2 different types of whale species. These 2 different whale species are the northern bottlenose whale (Hyperoodon ampullatus) and the southern bottlenose whale (Hyperoodon planifrons). These two are the only members of the Hyperoodon genus. Although these two species of bottlenose whales are physically similar, their

Leviathan melvillei

Recently, the scientific community discovered the final resting place of an ancient sperm whale in the middle of the Peruvian desert of Pisco-Ica called the Leviathan melvellei. This sperm whale had teeth that are much larger than today’s sperm whales. The genus name refers to Leviathan from the Bible, while the species epithet is named


A dugite is an Australian species of snake that is highly venomous that can inflict death in simply one bite. It is sometimes refered to as a brown snake and was first described by Albert Gunther in 1872. There are 3 sub-species of dugites, and they are: Pseudonaja affinis affinis Pseudonaja affinis exilis Pseudonaja affinis

Red Kangaroo

Native to Australia, the largest kangaroo is the red kangaroo. It is also the largest surviving marsupial on earth. It is found all across the mainland of Australia, except for the fertile areas in the south, the east coast, and the rainforests in the north. The red kangaroo The red kangaroo has short, red-brown fur

Chum Salmon

The chum salmon, also known as the dog salmon or the keta salmon, is a Pacific type of salmon that is marketed as a Silverbrite salmon. Its name is derived from the Chinook jargon word for ‘spotted’ or ‘marked’ which is tzum, while the keta part in its latin name is from the Evenki language

Coho Salmon

Also known as the silver salmon or “silvers”, the coho salmon is an anadromous fish in the salmon family. Its name is from the Russian кижуч (kizhuch) and is also the state animal of Chiba, Japan. The traditional range of the coho salmon is around the North Pacific Ocean. This means it ranges from the

Pink Salmon

The pink salmon (also known as the humpback salmon) is the smallest and most abundant Pacific salmon species. Its latin name derives the Russian name of this fish, gorbuša. Some people think that ‘pink salmon’ derives from the color of the fish, like how the sockeye salmon is called the red salmon because it is

Sockeye Salmon

Also known as a red salmon or a blueback salmon, the sockeye salmon is a species that is found in the northern Pacific Ocean and the bodies of water such as rivers nearby that discharge into it. There are also similar species found in landlocked area called the kokanee. It is the 3rd most common


Also known as the humped cattle or indicus cattle, the zebu are a type of cattle from South Asia. There are 75 different breeds of zebus, and they have been split up into African and South Asian breeds. The main zebu breeds include the Gir, Guzerat, Krankej, and more. There is also a hybrid zebu


Also known as the seladang or the Indian Bison, the Gaur is a large bovine animal found in the forests of South Asia and South East Asia. However, the largest population of gaurs are in India. The gaur’s claim to fame is that it is the largest species of wild cattle, including the extinct Aurochs

Nile Crocodile

When we think about the Nile River, the one animal we connect with it is the Nile Crocodile. This Crocodile is not only common in Egypt, but it is also common in Ethiopia, Somalia, Kenya, Uganda, Zimbabwe, and Zambia. Ancient Egyptians worshiped a crocodile-god called Sobek. Sobek’s was associated with fertility, protection, and the Pharaoh’s

Tibetan Wolf

A sub-species of the grey wolf, the Tibetan Wolf (also known as the Woolly Wolf) is a native of Central Asia. They are found from Turkestan, Northern China, Tibet, Mongolia, the Western Himalayas, and Korea. In Tibet, the Tibetan Wolf is known as a Changu but in the Niti pass from Kumaon this animal is